Snakes Alive

https://i2.wp.com/grabilla.com/04315-31558f72-ba71-415f-b46a-a2ac7fb39261.png

A few years ago, I really got into reading anything I could get from Alan Dean Foster.  His novels are a fun read; imaginative, fast-paced and, in a lot of cases, just good light-hearted fun.  He’s written a lot of Science Fiction and Fantasy, including a series called Midworld, which takes place in a Commonwealth of planets in some distant galaxy.  The protagonist is a red head named Flynx, who has a friend named Pip, who happens to be a flying telepathic venomous snake creature.  In the novels she’s called an Alaspinian Minidrag.  I loved the character so much that I named my Brazilian Rainbow Boa after her.  Pip did eventually meet Mr. Foster at a convention when she was about half grown, and that’s where I learned he’s a big snake fan.  I knew he was a kindred spirit!

Then along came Second Life, and the ability to build whatever we want.  Imaginations soar, and fantasies come to life.  Well as much as they can come to life in a virtual Internet 3D platform.  As I learned to build things, I built some flying snakes using regular prims and sculpties.  They were a homage to Alan Dean Foster and his Midworld series character.  Initially I called them “Alaspinian MInidrags”.  A short time later, Mr. Foster emailed me asking that I change the name.  See, that name is licensed, he reasoned.  While I’d love to let you use the name, you really have to pay for the right.  No problem, I say.  I’m just a huge fan and wanted to make something as a homage, but you’re a cool dude and I have zero reason to antagonize you, my friend.

So the shoulder pets I had made became flying snakes.  I made a few different varieties along the way including a Rainbow Boa, a Mexican Black King Snake, and others.  They sold reasonably well, and Second Life gained some cute reptilian shoulder pets.

Then Mesh happened.  I really wanted to redesign the flying snakes, so I set about creating the new Flutter Snakes.  These little critters are 100% original mesh, and modify/copy so you can resize them to fit your shoulders.  They will be available in several varieties including milksnake, boa, and python.  I hope to debut them at Fantasy Fair this year in Second Life (May, 2014).

https://i0.wp.com/grabilla.com/0431e-df073c68-2aa3-4b9d-8222-c1bbda8ab7b1.png

Leave a Reply

